Boston Public Health Commission honors
community health centers & the League

1-8-10 Feature Story:

Boston, MA - Highlighting their success in vaccinating more than 45,000 Boston residents against seasonal influenza and H1N1, the Boston Public Health Commission recognized the city's community health centers with two awards on Jan. 7th at its annual Employee Recognition Dinner. The awards, named for former Commission directors David Mulligan and John Auerbach, recognize Boston-based organizations that have demonstrated remarkable leadership and vision
                                                                                                     in addressing public health challenges
                                                                                                     throughout the year.

The David H. Mulligan Award was presented to the Boston Conference of Community Health Centers, a standing committee of the Massachusetts League of Community Health Centers dedicated to mutual problem solving and joint opportunity development among the city's community health centers. Most recently the Conference has been focused on organizing flu clinics for Boston's neighborhoods and addressing citywide health care workforce issues through the Mayor's Task Force on Improving Access to Primary Care. Boston Conference Co-Chairs Paulette Shaw Querner, Vice President of Harbor Health Services and Bill Walczak, CEO of the Codman Square Health Center accepted the award on behalf of the Conference.

The Boston Influenza Response Team, which has been instrumental in the planning and execution of the city's response to containing the H1N1 threat, received the John Auerbach Team Award for Innovations in Public Health. The Response Team is made up of personnel from a range of citywide medical and public health agencies, including Boston Emergency Medical Services (EMS), the Conference of Boston Teaching Hospitals and the Massachusetts League of Community Health Centers. Tina Wright, the League's Public Information & Emergency Management Coordinator, was recognized at the event.


Patricia Edraos: Celebrating 36 years of outstanding service to health centers & the League